Etsy Spotlight ~ The Littlest Bean


Today’s featured Etsy artist is Jen Menkahaus of The Littlest Bean. Aren’t those little felt buttons too cute??? I had spied these on the front page of etsy and immediately took notice. Wandering through Jen’s shop, I noted she had a great sense of color and design, and I purchased two large brooches in an instant. I love how they perk up my purse or any piece of clothing.

And she worked for Anthropologie… which just so happens to be my favorite store eva! 🙂

Give us the 411 about yourself.
I am a mom to an amazing 2 and 1/2 year old girl, I work part time securing funding for arts organizations in Maryland, and I have my craft business. Before becoming a mom, I worked for the Buyers Market of American Craft, one of the largest wholesale craft shows in the US. It was an amazing job, but far too time-consuming to continue on with after I had my daughter. I also used to work as a display person for Anthropologie, which was also an amazing job, and really taught me a lot.

What’s the story behind the name of your business?
I have always called my daughter Bean, even before she was born, and since she is the reason I started crafting seriously (I have always been a dabbler), it seemed natural.

What inspires you?
Mostly children’s books, animation, nature

Beside your craft, what other activities do you enjoy?
We blow a lot of bubbles, and make chalk drawings. When I have time, I like to read. I also enjoy going to see all kinds of art – we go to as many openings as we can.

Can you give any advice about selling on Etsy?
I haven’t been doing it long enough to really be an expert, but I would say good photographs are crucial. And don’t sell yourself short – I see lots of people selling work for way below what it’s worth.

Favorite movie/book/music?
Movies
Amelie, The Science of Sleep, Moulin Rouge, Across the Universe, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Frieda, all stop-motion animation, Ratatouille

Books
I am addicted to Harry Potter, I love anything by Jeanette Winterson, Oscar and Lucinda, the poetry of Margaret Atwood

Music
Jeff Buckley, Ani Difranco, Tori Amos, Leonard Cohen, I love Indian music, and really all types of music. I grew up in a home where there was always music.

In ten years you’ll be…
Oh, that is so hard to say. I really don’t know. I’m sure I’ll still be creating something, and hopefully living somewhere peaceful and beautiful with my family.

One thought on “Etsy Spotlight ~ The Littlest Bean

Leave a Reply

