Must Resist the Heat

Or at least try to! 🙂 Last weekend, I finally dared to try glassblowing… in 90° degree weather. Oh man was it ever a scorcher. I have a new found respect for the guys that do this full-time. The punties were heavier than I thought and the thinking of that dripping hot glass at the end made me semi-nervous. I’ve burned myself bad on a 1/4 mandrel… can’t imagine my entire hand!

And check out the paperweight I made below! They use Spectrum 96 in the hot shop, so I used a little bit of transparent green frit. The way I pictured it, my paperweight looks like some sort of radioactive egg. LOL….

Have a good evening guys!

4 thoughts on “Must Resist the Heat

  1. I am so jealous! (I’m a glass fuser and one of the frustrated artists at MySLART – been following your blog ever since.) That looks like fun.I’ve wanted to get to 3rd Degree myself, but my lack of time and money has conspired against me. Cool paperweight.

Leave a Reply

