Etsy Spotlight ~ Precocious

The perfect headband. I’ve tried in vain to find the right headband that had bold graphic prints. There was the elastic kind (unflattering) and even this cardboard type that was too tight behind my ears and gave me a headache. Then, on a whim (okay fine I’ll confess, I was looking for Amy Butler purses), I found this Etsy shop, Precocious by Andrea.

I bought two and LOVED how lightweight and comfortable they were. And believe me… I’ve forgotten I’m wearing them! Promptly, I bought three more and what I adore about these headbands is that they are reversible!

Give us the 411 about yourself.
I have seen years come and go, but I must say, I love where I’m at in life. This is my favorite age so far (I am a thirty-something). I live near Seattle and Tacoma, Washington and I can’t get enough of the city! I have many interests and hobbies, and I love anything creative. Currently, I am a professional tailor, an avid jogger, a killer baker, a party planner for my church. I have a B.A. in English. I am a full-time stay-at-home mom of three children, 6 years, 3 years, and 9 months old. They consume most of my time and I enjoy the challenge of being at home. I have been married for ten years..all I can say is time flies when your having fun!

What’s the story behind the name of your business?
It really has nothing to do with headbands or bags or sewing at all. I just adore the Disney film, Mary Poppins, and thought if I ever had my own business I would name it “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious,” but, alas, it just wouldn’t work. So instead I picked a word from the lyrics, “If you say it loud enough you’ll always sound PRECOCIOUS.”

How did you get involved in your craft?
I have been sewing since I can remember. My grandmother taught me hand-embroidery when I was 8 and I still have the sampler that started it all. My mom taught me how to machine-sew when I was 10 and bought me my first sewing machine when I was 11. I took off with it. I eventually became a professional tailor and managed the tailoring department at a campus dry-cleaner to put myself through school. I have been designing and creating constantly almost my whole life.

What inspires you?
People. Colorful people and colorful fabrics!

Beside your craft, what other activities do you enjoy?
Jogging, reading, blogging, bowling, swimming, cooking, baking, family time, hiking, camping, pottery, jewelry making, listening to my ipod, going to indie music concerts, browsing museums, shopping, playing hard with my children…

Can you give any advice about selling on Etsy?
Find something you are passionate about and be enthusiastic. And remember to bend over backward for your awesome customers. Always listen to them and always do all you can to make their shopping experience fabulous.

Favorite movie/book/music?
Oh, these change frequently. At the moment: Superman(the one with Christopher Reeves)/The Tipping Point/Band of Horses

In ten years you’ll be…
Happy and living it up!

2 thoughts on “Etsy Spotlight ~ Precocious

Leave a Reply

